Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2012, May 15

“Book of Mormon: Mosiah 4: What Have You Borrowed from God?” by grego

Book of Mormon: Mosiah 4: What Have You Borrowed from God?

grego

(c) 2012

Mosiah 4:28 And I would that ye should remember, that whosoever among you borroweth of his neighbor should return the thing that he borroweth, according as he doth agree, or else thou shalt commit sin; and perhaps thou shalt cause thy neighbor to commit sin also.

This verse seems pretty weird, stuck here all by itself. But it balances out the whole preceding section on beggars, and it gives those who can pay back, a reminder to do so. While we are all beggars (v.19, 20), we are also all borrowers.

It also makes me think about how much I’ve “borrowed” from Jesus, and that I should try to return what I’ve borrowed, or to give what I’ve been given; or as Jesus said, “When thou art converted, convert they brethren”. When I covenanted with God at baptism and in the temple, I “borrowed” my salvation, and agreed to return it for myself and help others to do so also, and to do other things, according to those covenants. If I fail to live up to my covenants, I will commit sin; and though God won’t, it’s a nice reminder that it’s not a light thing to fail to live up to my part of the bargain.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

