Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2012, January 12

“Book of Mormon/ Pearl of Great Price/ Doctrine and Covenants/ Holy Bible: ‘Stand in Holy Places'” by grego

Book of Mormon/ Pearl of Great Price/ Doctrine and Covenants/ Holy Bible: “Stand in Holy Places”

grego
(c)2011

I was reading this in the Pearl of Great Price:

Joseph Smith—Matthew 1:12 When you, therefore, shall see the abomination of desolation, spoken of by Daniel the prophet, concerning the destruction of Jerusalem, then you shall stand in the holy place; whoso readeth let him understand.

–when it occurred to me that the temple in Jerusalem was destroyed in this abomination of desolation, and in fact that people who had run into the temple to be saved were massacred inside; so it seems that “holy place” =/= temple, here.

But in many General Authority talks, that relationship is shown. Here are some verses that support that interpretation:

Doctrine and Covenants 96:2 Therefore, let my servant Newel K. Whitney take charge of the place which is named among you, upon which I design to build mine holy house.

Doctrine and Covenants 124:39 Therefore, verily I say unto you, that your anointings, and your washings, and your baptisms for the dead, and your solemn semblies, and your memorials for your sacrifices by the sons of Levi, and for your oracles in your most holy places wherein you receive conversations, and your statutes and judgments, for the beginning of the revelations and foundation of Zion, and for the glory, honor, and endowment of all her municipals, are ordained by the ordinance of my holy house, which my people are always commanded to build unto my holy name.

Exodus contains many references to the tabernacle/ temple as the holy place. Paul speaks about this in Hebrews 9 (and also says that heaven is a holy place).

Is there more to this?

Here are some similar verses, that might be interpreted that way, or perhaps in other ways I’ll discuss afterward:
Doctrine and Covenants 45:32 But my disciples shall stand in holy places, and shall not be moved; but among the wicked, men shall lift up their voices and curse God and die.

Doctrine and Covenants 87:8 Wherefore, stand ye in holy places, and be not moved, until the day of the Lord come; for behold, it cometh quickly, saith the Lord. Amen.

I think “holy place” is where we are told to be by the Holy Ghost and our priesthood leaders (who hopefully pass it along, NOT a la Haun’s Mill…). So, while it could mean the temple, and often does mean it currently, it seems to me that there really is more to the meaning. To stand in holy places to me connects in this sense with the talk given by President Uchtdorf.

Here are some examples:
Doctrine and Covenants 60:7 And in this place let them lift up their voice and declare my word with loud voices, without wrath or doubting, lifting up holy hands upon them. For I am able to make you holy, and your sins are forgiven you.

Doctrine and Covenants 101:22 Behold, it is my will, that all they who call on my name, and worship me according to mine everlasting gospel, should gather together, and stand in holy places;

Doctrine and Covenants 101:64 That the work of the gathering together of my saints may continue, that I may build them up unto my name upon holy places; for the time of harvest is come, and my word must needs be fulfilled.

A holy place could be anywhere that you worship God (in a literal sense or by your actions) with the Holy Ghost:
Alma 34:38 That ye contend no more against the Holy Ghost, but that ye receive it, and take upon you the name of Christ; that ye humble yourselves even to the dust, and worship God, in whatsoever place ye may be in, in spirit and in truth; and that ye live in thanksgiving daily, for the many mercies and blessings which he doth bestow upon you.

In fact, it could be anywhere you give place to the Holy Ghost in your heart:
Moroni 7:32 And by so doing, the Lord God prepareth the way that the residue of men may have faith in Christ, that the Holy Ghost may have place in their hearts, according to the power thereof; and after this manner bringeth to pass the Father, the covenants which he hath made unto the children of men.

New Jerusalem:
Ether 13:3 And that it was the place of the New Jerusalem, which should come down out of heaven, and the holy sanctuary of the Lord.

It could also mean Zion, the holy place prepared for the Saints that will avoid the destructions sent forth across the world:
Moses 7:62 And righteousness will I send down out of heaven; and truth will I send forth out of the earth, to bear testimony of mine Only Begotten; his resurrection from the dead; yea, and also the resurrection of all men; and righteousness and truth will I cause to sweep the earth as with a flood, to gather out mine elect from the four quarters of the earth, unto a place which I shall prepare, an Holy City, that my people may gird up their loins, and be looking forth for the time of my coming; for there shall be my tabernacle, and it shall be called Zion, a New Jerusalem.

Doctrine and Covenants 76:66 These are they who are come unto Mount Zion, and unto the city of the living God, the heavenly place, the holiest of all.

Well, wherever it might be, it surely isn’t here!:
Alma 31:21 Now the place was called by them Rameumptom, which, being interpreted, is the holy stand.

I believe that a holy place is a place where demons and destroying angels won’/ can’t go. If you are there, you are under the Lord’s protection. It reminds me of Nephi’s “robe of righteousness”:
2 Nephi 4:33 O Lord, wilt thou encircle me around in the robe of thy righteousness! O Lord, wilt thou make a way for mine escape before mine enemies!…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

