Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2012, January 11

“Book of Mormon: Nephi’s Interesting Language Use of the Possessives ‘Our’ and ‘My’ in 1 Nephi” by grego

Book of Mormon: Nephi’s Interesting Language Use of the Possessives ‘Our’ and ‘My’ in 1 Nephi

grego
(c)2012

Ok, here’s some really interesting language use. There’s a lot of switching back and forth between “our” and “my”, when “our” would be used most of the time in (American) English. Also, Nephi adds the names of his father and mother—he has already given his father’s name many times, and he finishes the short account with his mother’s name at the beginning and end.

1 Nephi 5:1 And it came to pass that after we had come down into the wilderness unto *our father*, behold, he was filled with joy, and also *my mother*, *Sariah*, was exceedingly glad, for she truly had mourned because of us.

2 For she had supposed that we had perished in the wilderness; and she also had complained against *my father*, telling him that he was a visionary man; saying: Behold thou hast led us forth from the land of *our inheritance*, and *my sons* are no more, and *we* perish in the wilderness.

3 And after this manner of language had *my mother* complained against *my father*.

4 And it had come to pass that *my father* spake unto her, saying: I know that I am a visionary man; for if I had not seen the things of God in a vision I should not have known the goodness of God, but had tarried at Jerusalem, and had perished with my brethren.

5 But behold, *I* have obtained a land of promise, in the which things I do rejoice; yea, and I know that the Lord will deliver *my sons* out of the hands of Laban, and bring them down again unto *us* in the wilderness.

6 And after this manner of language did *my father*, *Lehi*, comfort *my mother*, *Sariah*, concerning us, while we journeyed in the wilderness up to the land of Jerusalem, to obtain the record of the Jews.

7 And when *we* had returned to the tent of *my father*, behold their joy was full, and *my mother* was comforted.

8 And she spake, saying: Now I know of a surety that the Lord hath commanded my husband to flee into the wilderness; yea, and I also know of a surety that the Lord hath protected *my sons*, and delivered them out of the hands of Laban, and given them power whereby they could accomplish the thing which the Lord hath commanded them. And after this manner of language did she speak.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

