Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2010, September 9

“Book of Mormon: Faith, Repentance, Prayer, Scriptures, and the Holy Spirit: Keys to Christ-like Survival Revelation” by grego

“Book of Mormon: Faith, Repentance, Prayer, Scriptures, and the Holy Spirit: Keys to Christ-like Survival Revelation”

grego
(c) 2010

We’ve been having a problem recently with our new neighbors. They’re a little scary/ things just don’t click. A bunch of really rich young guys that are always hanging out at the one guy’s tea store (they don’t seem like tea people), no customers, are very protective and threatening of what they feel is theirs (parking spaces) yet don’t care about others (parking in others’ spaces) (By the way, the law here does allow others to block your driveway if they’re on the public street… :( ), guys with tattoos at the store opening, etc.

I have a nagging thought that they are gangsters.

My wife has forbidden the children to go outside when they’re around (we live in like townhouses). I agree. We don’t have any good vibes about this.

I was not happy with the parking situation at first and wanted to get it settled, but my wife was insistent on not making anything about it, and just yielding. Yet we still feel indignant about it.

I’ve been wondering what to do. I could obviously do a lot of things, but I’m looking for something peaceful and non-confrontational, long-term, safe for my family and customers, “get-on-with-life”. My feelings are a little unstable at times.

Wow, this is a tough one. Frankly, I feel like a little boy.

Right now we are reading the Captain Moroni chapters in the Book of Mormon. (And people say they’re a waste… Ha! We’ll see them being used a lot more in the future…) This verse in particular was helpful:

Alma 48:15 And this was their faith, that by so doing God would prosper them in the land, or in other words, if they were faithful in keeping the commandments of God that he would prosper them in the land; yea, warn them to flee, or to prepare for war, according to their danger;

I was also reading the June 2010 Liahona (https://new.lds.org/liahona/2010/07/sharing-the-gospel-with-confidence?lang=eng), and came across this:
“Latter-day Saints should conduct themselves with dignity and thoughtfulness.
“Not only is this the model that Jesus Christ taught and demonstrated in His own life, but it also reflects the reality of the strength and maturity of Church members today.”
“If the Church allowed critics and opponents to choose the ground on which its battles are fought, it would risk being distracted from the focus and mission it has pursued successfully for nearly 180 years. Instead, the Church itself will determine its own course as it continues to preach the restored gospel of Jesus Christ throughout the world.”

I had already thought about what good it would do to concentrate so many resources (time, energy, thought, emotions, bad feelings) on what really could be a molehill of a problem—it would just make it a mountain. It would keep me stuck on some triviality, keeping me from concentrating on the big and important things I need to do.

I have prayed for them, more than once. I have prayed for us, more than once.

As I was praying about this most recently, I received the answer, “Wait and see, wait and see.” Ok. I will wait and see. Patience, love, forebearance, it will come.

2 Comments »

  1. UPDATE: After a while, I received this answer: “You will be as safe here as you would living with any other neighbors”.

    Comment by grego — 2011, April 14 @ 12:16 am

  2. Dear Grego: I was born & raised LDS. My entire family is LDS. In my teens I went on a wayward path and started hanging out with people from all walks of life. I married a felon that at first glance you might think was a gangster, which he was FAR FROM…You CANNOT judge a book by its cover! Only God can judge right? Have your wife bake some cookies for your neighbors one day…rather than your home teachers or relief society or whatever, and YOU just go knock on their door. Introduce yourself, tell em your wife baked them some cookies…they’re human! Just talk to them like EQUALS. Apologize for any times your company may have parked in their spot n then just say like “we need to RESPECT each others space” and leave it at that. Be nice. They might think your a corny white boy but at least you will have extended your kindness, earned their respect and you’ll probably walk away with some piece of mind. If they ARE doing something illegal they’re gonna wanna keep their neighbors happy and at a distance. Remember… love thy neighbor as thyself.

    Comment by Darcy — 2013, October 11 @ 2:13 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

