Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2010, February 4

“Book of Mormon: The Meaning of Moroni’s Transition from Ether to Moroni” by grego

Book of Mormon: The Meaning of Moroni’s Transition from Ether to Moroni

grego
(c) 2010

Going through my old copy of my Book of Mormon (mid-90’s), I’ve found lots of notes to write out and share. Here’s one. It has to do with the meaning of Moroni’s transition from the book of Ether to the book of Moroni.

The last two verses of the book of Ether read:
Ether 15:33 And the Lord spake unto Ether, and said unto him: Go forth. And he went forth, and beheld that the words of the Lord had all been fulfilled; and he finished his record; (and the hundredth part I have not written) and he hid them in a manner that the people of Limhi did find them.
34 Now the last words which are written by Ether are these: Whether the Lord will that I be translated, or that I suffer the will of the Lord in the flesh, it mattereth not, if it so be that I am saved in the kingdom of God. Amen.

In addition to Ether 12, Moroni took this last part quite personally, too. He could relate to Ether:
-being the witness to the fulfilling of the word of the Lord;
-being witness of the destruction of his people;
-being kept by the Lord;
-finishing his record, some of which would not be translated;
-hiding the plates so that they would be found by the next people;
-and after that being done, acceptance of whatever might come.

For even more, one must read on:
Moroni 1:1 Now I, Moroni, after having made an end of abridging the account of the people of Jared, *I had supposed not to have written more*, but I have not as yet perished; and I make not myself known to the Lamanites lest they should destroy me.
2 For behold, their wars are exceedingly fierce among themselves; and because of their hatred they put to death every Nephite that will not deny the Christ.
3 And I, Moroni, will not deny the Christ; wherefore, I wander whithersoever I can for the safety of mine own life.
4 Wherefore, I write a few more things, *contrary to that which I had supposed; for I had supposed not to have written any more*; but I write a few more things, that perhaps they may be of worth unto my brethren, the Lamanites, in some future day, according to the will of the Lord.

Note that Moroni mentions twice that he thought Ether 15:34 would be his last written words. And how fitting they were, and what a beautiful ending! And yet, he wrote on, hoping to give more.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

