Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2008, July 14

Book of Mormon: Korihor’s Hypocrisy and Lying: Asking for a Sign after Getting One

Book of Mormon: Korihor’s Hypocrisy and Lying: Asking for a Sign after Getting One

Korihor asks for a sign:
Alma 30:43 And now Korihor said unto Alma: If thou wilt show me a sign, that I may be convinced that there is a God, yea, show unto me that he hath power, and then will I be convinced of the truth of thy words.

Ha!! He had just gotten one! Alma had just told him, by the spirit of prophecy, that:
Alma 30:42 Behold, [1]I know that thou believest, but [2]thou art possessed with a lying spirit, and [3]ye have put off the Spirit of God that it may have no place in you; but [4]the devil has power over you, and he doth carry you about, working devices that he may destroy the children of God.

We see this when Korihor fully admits–after getting the other sign he wanted, unfortunately:
Alma 30:52 And Korihor put forth his hand and wrote, saying: I know that I am dumb, for I cannot speak; and I know that nothing save it were the power of God could bring this upon me; yea, and [1]I always knew that there was a God.

Alma 30:53 But behold, [4]the devil hath deceived me; for he appeared unto me in the form of an angel, and said unto me: Go and reclaim this people, for they have all gone astray after an unknown God. And he said unto me: There is no God; yea, and [2]he taught me that which I should say. And I have taught his words; and I taught them because they were pleasing unto the carnal mind; and I taught them, even [2]until I had much success, insomuch that I verily believed that they were true; and for this cause [3]I withstood the truth, even until I have
brought this great curse upon me.

Wow. No wonder Korihor got it.


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

