Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2008, June 20

Book of Mormon: The Lamanite King Told the Truth

Years and years ago I saw this:

About to be slain by Ammon, the Lamanite king–Lamoni’s father–says he will give up to half of his kingdom for his life:
Alma 20:23 Now the king, fearing he should lose his life, said: If thou wilt spare me I will grant unto thee whatsoever thou wilt ask, even to half of the kingdom.

Later, hearing the gospel from Aaron and desiring eternal life, he says he will give all his kingdom:
Alma 22:15 And it came to pass that after Aaron had expounded these things unto him, the king said: What shall I do that I may have this eternal life of which thou hast spoken? Yea, what shall I do that I may be born of God, having this wicked spirit rooted out of my breast, and receive his Spirit, that I may be filled with joy, that I may not be cast off at the last day? Behold, said he, I will give up all that I possess, yea, I will forsake my kingdom, that I may receive this great joy.

But the story doesn’t end there. Though the Lamanite king dies right before he can forsake the kingdom, I have no doubt the king would have done the same as his son did: given up all his kingdom for the gospel:
Alma 24:2 And their hatred became exceedingly sore against them, even insomuch that they began to rebel against their king, insomuch that they would not that he should be their king; therefore, they took up arms against the people of Anti-Nephi-Lehi.
Alma 24:3 Now the king conferred the kingdom upon his son, and he called his name Anti-Nephi-Lehi.
Alma 24:4 And the king died in that selfsame year that the Lamanites began to make preparations for war against the people of God.
Alma 24:5 Now when Ammon and his brethren and all those who had come up with him saw the preparations of the Lamanites to destroy their brethren, they came forth to the land of Midian, and there Ammon met all his brethren; and from thence they came to the land of Ishmael that they might hold a council with Lamoni and also with his brother Anti-Nephi-Lehi, what they should do to defend themselves against the Lamanites.
Alma 24:6 Now there was not one soul among all the people who had been converted unto the Lord that would take up arms against their brethren; nay, they would not even make any preparations for war; yea, and also their king commanded them that they should not.
Alma 27:14 And they gathered together all their people, yea, all the people of the Lord, and did gather together all their flocks and herds, and departed out of the land, and came into the wilderness which divided the land of Nephi from the land of Zarahemla, and came over near the borders of the land.

I read that and think, how much have I “given up” for the gospel? How willing am I to forsake the things of this world–especially after I have already worked so hard to get them–for the gospel?


Bookmark and Share

1 Comment »

  1. From a certain perspective, Lamoni’s father DID give up part of his kingdom when he decreed that he would govern Lamoni no more.

    Comment by Michaela Stephens — 2011, March 4 @ 8:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

