Book of Mormon Notes– How deep can you dig?

2008, January 26

Book of Mormon: Alma–Full of Joy, But Forever Lost In Their Minds

Filed under: Uncategorized — grego @ 2:55 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Book of Mormon: Alma–Full of Joy, But Forever Lost In Their Minds

Here’s the account that we receive from Alma, after the fact:

Alma 36:18 Now, as my mind caught hold upon this thought, I cried within my heart: O Jesus, thou Son of God, have mercy on me, who am in the gall of bitterness, and am encircled about by the everlasting chains of death.

Alma 36:19 And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more.

Alma 36:20 And oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea, my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain!

Alma 36:21 Yea, I say unto you, my son, that there could be nothing so exquisite and so bitter as were my pains. Yea, and again I say unto you, my son, that on the other hand, there can be nothing so exquisite and sweet as was my joy.

Alma 36:22 Yea, methought I saw, even as our father Lehi saw, God sitting upon his throne, surrounded with numberless concourses of angels, in the attitude of singing and praising their God; yea, and my soul did long to be there.

Alma 36:23 But behold, my limbs did receive their strength again, and I stood upon my feet, and did manifest unto the people that I had been born of God.

That’s his conversion experience after the appearance of the angel that he presents to his son.

Ok, what if Alma the younger had died at Alma 36:22? No doubt most everyone–minus maybe his father–figured he had surely gone to hell to suffer a long time. He had been an atheist and quite a sinner. Yet, in reality, it wouldn’t have been that–but who would have known?

His father:
Mosiah 27:20 And they rehearsed unto his father all that had happened unto them; and his father rejoiced, for he knew that it was the power of God.
Mosiah 27:21 And he caused that a multitude should be gathered together that they might witness what the Lord had done for his son, and also for those that were with him.

They would have thought him eternally lost; yet, it was the opposite! Alma the younger had received forgiveness, and actually longed to die so he could be with the angels singing and praising God! This is not a sinner’s desire… Yet because Alma lived, everyone knew that he was saved. There was further purpose in his living, due in part to his father’s and the people’s prayers:
Mosiah 27:22 And he caused that the priests should assemble themselves together; and they began to fast, and to pray to the Lord their God that he would open the mouth of Alma, that he might speak, and also that his limbs might receive their strength–that the eyes of the people might be opened to see and know of the goodness and glory of God.


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

